What's new

Check-in from Montana

Just a quick check in from Montana. My name is Rahn (pronounced Ron) and I am really new to the whole straight razor world. Right now, I am using a shavette but I just recently ordered a Dovo. I have a lot of questions but I will look around in previous threads to see what's already been discussed.

Welcome to B&B! Perfect day to make your first post, everybody is here. I have a Feather Artist Club shavette. What style Dovo did you get, hopefully not a Spanish point?

Last edited:
I ordered a Bismark from Dovo, It looks like it's a full hollow ground roundpoint. And a 6/8, I think. I also found a good deal on Facebook for a Dova Prima silver steel. Blade wise it looks identical to the Bismark. Just different markings. But it came with some extra stuff that I needed anyway like a strop.

Some people will be here shortly to offer great suggestions, but one I heard recently is to get a ruined strop to practice so you don't knick your good one.

Edit: those are some nice razor to start with!

I ordered a Bismark from Dovo, It looks like it's a full hollow ground roundpoint. And a 6/8, I think. I also found a good deal on Facebook for a Dova Prima silver steel. Blade wise it looks identical to the Bismark. Just different markings. But it came with some extra stuff that I needed anyway like a strop.
Welcome here. Good first choices. I hope they come to you truly shave ready so you don’t get discouraged on your maiden voyage with a bonafide straight razor.

Welcome here. Good first choices. I hope they come to you truly shave ready so you don’t get discouraged on your maiden voyage with a bonafide straight razor.