What's new

Carolina Reapers

Eric_75

Not made for these times.
Any tricks to sprout the seeds,? Always struggle getting superhot chilies to germinate.
I'm far from any kind of expert. I started out just by tossing some seeds in several pots with potting soil and the next thing I knew I had plants. I believe my original seeds came from a friend's crop in Springfield, MO. I keep them indoors most of the time near my front windows where they get adequate light, but they do get a couple hours of outdoor sun during the warmer months. I've been doing this for several years now and haven't had any issues. I use basic Miracle-Gro all purpose plant food. One year some of my plants got attacked by white flies, but a solution of water and dishwashing liquid solved that problem. Neem oil works great as well. Sorry I couldn't be of more help to you, sir.

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member
I've always started seeds in a wet folded tissue on a plate on a window sill. Put the seeds on the tissue, fold it over and dribble a bit of water on it, keep it wet. Check every day until they sprout then I moved them to egg crates and left them on the window sill in the sun until they started to grow and when they did, at about 2" - 4" high, buried the entire egg crate.

My mother's spice cabinet was non-existent. Salt and pepper... and "seasoning salt" were pretty much it. I didn't encounter spicy hot foods until I lived in Indonesia for a couple years after HS. I grew to love them.

Being back in Bali is sort of full circle for me.... the spices here are amazing... not just hot but oh so flavorful.

I once decided to obtain and eat 1/4 of a reaper. It was very tasty for a second or two before I entered another dimension of intoxicated pain.