What's new

Caring for wood scales

I'm relatively new to SR shaving and have a TI with oak scales. The oak doesn't appear to be sealed, and it may be my skill level but I don't do a great job of keeping them dry when shaving. What, if anything, do folks here to do care for these aside from avoiding getting them wet?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Most of my SR scales are of "unsealed" timber. What I do is apply beeswax to the timber. I prefer beeswax as it is more natural and doesn't give a high gloss finish. Americans like glossy things, so beeswax might not suitable for them.

When I first receive the SR, all timber surfaces get about 6 applications of beeswax. After that they are rewaxed about every 6 months. An alternative to beeswax is timber floor wax (also mostly beeswax). Each application is apply, rubbing well in, allow to dry about 30 minutes and then polish.

If interested, I will provide instructions.

Timber scales don’t require any special care. They shouldn’t be getting wet. If you oil your blades, you could give them a wipe down with an oily rag once in a while. That should do it.

Most of my SR scales are of "unsealed" timber. What I do is apply beeswax to the timber. I prefer beeswax as it is more natural and doesn't give a high gloss finish. Americans like glossy things, so beeswax might not suitable for them.

When I first receive the SR, all timber surfaces get about 6 applications of beeswax. After that they are rewaxed about every 6 months. An alternative to beeswax is timber floor wax (also mostly beeswax). Each application is apply, rubbing well in, allow to dry about 30 minutes and then polish.

If interested, I will provide instructions.

Some species of wood are naturally resistant to rot.

Out of all of the various scale materials,
the one that feels the best in my hand
is unfinished wood, sanded smooth but otherwise unfinished.

This one is rosewood.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod