What's new

Can We Define Some Blade Terminology?

Hello everyone,

I want some clarification on a few things blade-related. Terms describing different blades get thrown around a lot but I have not actually heard someone explain why something applies to this or that blade. I'm a bit of an amateur theologian, and terms or explanations that "suggest but do not define" are pet peeves for me!

Here's what I'm talking about:

• What makes a blade "forgiving"? Does it perform well under various levels of pressure without nicking? Is it milder?
  • What makes a blade mild? Or aggressive? Is it solely the sharpness of the blade? Or are there other factors?
  • What makes a blade good for sensitive skin? Is it sharper, and therefore requires fewer passes to achieve a close shave? Or duller, so as not to cut too closely to the skin? Is it ground smoother to prevent tugging? Does the coating make a difference?
  • What are the main differences between blades that are "stainless" vs those that are "platinum". What makes one "better"? Manufacturers often make both, one costing more than the other. Why?

Thanks everyone. If I have forgotten anything you might think would be relevant, please share.

Quite honestly, I don't buy these characterizations of blades. I think it is more of an individual's thoughts about a blade. YMMV is something that comes up with blades.

Some blades feel harsh on my face when I use them. These same blades are loved by others. I find that the razor, not the blade, is really what makes the most difference in the shave. For example, with a Muhle R.41, for me, no blade is forgiving.