What's new

Can I get away using a four-sided paddle strop?

I'm new to honing straight razors. I'm wondering if I could get away with just using a four-sided paddle strop with pastes in 3, 1, and .5 micron. Would people still recommend something like a Norton 4K/8K stone or would I be okay with the paddle strop alone. Also, what are peoples' thoughts on sharpening paste in .25 micron? Is it necessary or does it just give the blade an edge that is way too sharp?

Additionally, if I'm just maintaining a handful of razors, how long would it be before I'd need to repaste each side of the strop?

Thanks, B&B!

kelbro

Alfred Spatchcock
The paddle strop will work well on razors that are already close to being shave-ready. They will not restore a damaged edge. I would say, 'use it 'til you can't'.

The pastes last a long time. A lot longer than you might think. The time to change it is when it quits working. That time will vary quite a bit dpending on how many strokes, how much pressure you apply, etc...

I agree. For basic maintenance of shave ready razors .5 and .25 is all you need. I don't see a need for the 3 micron and even the 1 you won't need much. .25 will put a very keen edge on but most will agree a .25 diamond will make the shave a tad on the harsh side. CrO is probably a better alternative for that final polish.

At some point you will need to rehone but that could take a very long time. The question is will the 1 micron extend that time frame over the .5. personally I don't think so.

So I've got a strop and the back is pasted with .5 CrO. Other than that, what else would I need to maintain my straight razors myself? I'm looking for the most cost effective manner to maintain my razors, so I'd prefer to stay away from the more expensive options. Thanks again.