What's new

Can an animal hair brush make that much of a difference?

I've been using synthetics exclusively for 7 years. They have produced great lather, but I am questioning the quality of the shave. I bought a boar brush a few months ago and was getting better shaves, then a badger and getting even better shaves and near zero irritation.

Is this me or is there a reason behind this?

Lots of people like synthetics and they are a great way to get started. And they may be exactly what some people want.

But maybe the animal hair brushes coincide better with what you want your shaving experience to be.

Nothing wrong with that! I am definitely a fan of animal hair brushes over the synthetics.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

I enjoy both. Started with synths and still use them. I also have a badger. Both make lather well, and have the characteristics that I like. The face feel of natural hair (at least badger) is different. Use what you like.

I highly doubt the brush is a significant factor in your improved shaves compared to a more refined and improved technique that you have developed, more than likely.
Whatever it is, keep doing it, though. :001_smile

I personally find synthetics to be more performant than the badgers I have if all we are measuring is how I can make a great lather. it's also quite a bit faster.

but they not very good at face lathering, IMO

YMMV

If I could start all over again, I'd still just use the Stirling Kong and not spend all the money that I have spent on badger brushes.

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
The reason is because they are better. Enjoy.

upload_2019-5-30_19-38-31.png

I've been using synthetics exclusively for 7 years. They have produced great lather, but I am questioning the quality of the shave. I bought a boar brush a few months ago and was getting better shaves, then a badger and getting even better shaves and near zero irritation.

Is this me or is there a reason behind this?