What's new

Can a leather strop be used with a little chip?

I am new to stropping and accidentally lost focus, which led to the blade cutting into the leather.

The chip is small, and the leather did not come off. Do you think this will be a problem when using this in the future?

You can repair nicks in a couple of ways.

You can sand down the strop with a high grit wet n dry paper 1000 to 3000 grit paper. 1k grit paper will increase the draw, 3000 will reduce the draw so be mindful of what you use.

You can glue larger nicks down with rubber cement, and press it flat with a spoon whilst it's drying. After it is fully dry you can smooth everything down with high grit wet n dry as above.

After either of these treatments I would treat with a good quality strop balm - e.g. Dovo. This needs to be done very sparingly - rub it between the palms of your hands and then onto the strop.

If you are still shaky with your stropping, try with the strop lying on a flat surface until you build up the muscle memory.

You can repair nicks in a couple of ways.

You can sand down the strop with a high grit wet n dry paper 1000 to 3000 grit paper. 1k grit paper will increase the draw, 3000 will reduce the draw so be mindful of what you use.

You can glue larger nicks down with rubber cement, and press it flat with a spoon whilst it's drying. After it is fully dry you can smooth everything down with high grit wet n dry as above.

After either of these treatments I would treat with a good quality strop balm - e.g. Dovo. This needs to be done very sparingly - rub it between the palms of your hands and then onto the strop.

If you are still shaky with your stropping, try with the strop lying on a flat surface until you build up the muscle memory.
Thanks for your informative reply!

Is it bad for the razor to strop on a knicked strop?

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets