What's new

Camera phone vs. DSLR.

My first foray into this part of B&B with a (loaded?) question... or maybe better yet, a rant:

I've always gotten better shots with my iPhone than my DSLR. To a point of frustration. The difference in quality & color, even vs Program mode of my Canon EOS SL1, frustrates me.

I know 90% is the photographer. Skillwise, I'm an amateur at best but I do know my way around a camera. Still, my iPhone always seems to come out with a better exposure, crispness, and color.

Do cameraphones have an algorithm built in?

Only other guess I have is that an iPhone's pancake lens (for example) is a much wider aperture than my f3.5 / 18-55mm, and iPhone automatically bumps up ISO to insane levels.

Is there any other difference?

Without going into detail, yes there is a huge difference between a DSLR and a phone camera. Mostly in sensor size and lens quality.

But it does not matter what camera you use. The best camera is the one you have with you, and that you can get results from.

Where you will see a phone camera fall short - situations where you need to adjust shutter speed (it blur a moving object or stop a fast moving object). Situations where you need to control DOF. Low light, off camera flash, continuous focus/ shooting action, file size, lack of RAW format and probably more.

That being said, I take a lot of pictures with my cell. It produces good images, and its always with me. I use a "real" camera when I need to do any of the things listed above. Some cameras have built in processing that is better or worse. I shoot RAW most of the time, so I'm doing all of my post processing on the computer. Ive heard tell that Fuji's JPEG engine produces some very good in camera files that need little manipulation.

Last edited: