What's new

Brush making, using what you got.

Hello all,
I've been thinking about trying my hand at brush handle making.
I'm a pretty handy guy, and a machinist by trade. That being said, I don't have a wood lathe but I do have a manual steel lathe and a CNC lathe I have pretty much full access to.

My plan is to CNC the basic profile, everything except the handle bottom. I'll then fit the piece on a mandrel in order to do all the sanding, finishing, sealing with CA glue ect either on a manual lathe or my drill press.

My main questions are in regards to the mandrel. The plan is to have a shaft that will fit into the knot hole, with a screw sticking out of the end. So that the wooden handle can be screwed on to the mandrel which can then be held in a 3 jaw chuck.

Heres to pictures to help explain, nothing is to scale just a quick mock up so you know what I'm talking about lol. The screw (or bolt) would of course be through the centre of the mandrel. The mandrel itself will be aluminum and sized to the knot hole.

proxy.php

proxy.php

The rotational force will all be clockwise, so it'll tighten as it spins and the force will be super low because all it'll be doing is sanding, filing ect.

When I turn out the knot hole, I'll drill and tap a hole in the middle to accommodate the screw. I hope this is clear, not being a carpenter I'm not sure what would be a better way to hold my work piece. A wood screw sticking out of the mandrel with a pilot hole in the handle, or a bolt with a drilled and taped hole in the handle. I'm going to be taking the work piece on and off at least twice so it can't get to loose.

Any of you pros have any input? I hope I'm being clear. Thanks for any help.

If I get this hair brained plan off the ground I'll be sure to post pictures showing the whole process so others can learn from my mistakes.