What's new

Brush failure--can I fix it?

I was gently drying my brush on a towel after rinsing it out when the plastic holding the know in the handle broke. I'm not sure when I bought the brush, but I tink it's only about 9 months old. Is it possible to use something like gorilla glue to re-glue it once the brush is totally dry or do I need to do something more than that to fix it?

Thanks.

I've attached some pictures, if that helps.

Dave:

Although I am far from an expert, those who restore brushes often recommend Marine Epoxy. From what I have read Gorilla Glue gets hot and expands as it sets up and can ruin your knot hairs and sometimes the brush handle.

Marine Epoxy can be found at many hardware stores and is easy to use. Search for the how-to thread on brush restoration and it has great pictures showing you step-by-step how to complete this task. Unfortunately I do not know how to link that thread into my response.

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

Don

yep, a couple of dabs of marine epoxy should do the trick. I just did my first restore using it, just a thin layer on the bottom of the knot and in on the bottom of the handle was all I needed. I just used a few toothpicks to apply it. I've see q-tips recommended too (with the tips cut off). I didn't do the sides because I was afraid it would spill out. Stuff works like a charm.

I think I'd contact where you purchased it or the manufacturer. To my untrained eye it looks like a Semogue and my guess they stand behind their product.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Do I need to remove or file down the plastic that's remained in the handle or jsut clean it off?

Remove all loose material, and any material that sticks out enough to cause you trouble in putting the knot back in easily.

I think I'd contact where you purchased it or the manufacturer. To my untrained eye it looks like a Semogue and my guess they stand behind their product.