What's new

Break-in synthetic brushes?

I received my first synthetic brush yesterday from The English Shaving Company as mentioned here. I soaked it for about an hour (not on purpose - I lost track of what I was doing - must be getting old). Then I made a trial batch of lather. I also used it this morning. Worked OK as far as the lather goes. The brush is pretty soft, but either it's too stiff for me or it's going to take me some time to get used to a stiff brush. In some ways, I like my boar brush because it's a little stiffer than my silvertip, so I like a fairly stiff brush. But this synthetic is pretty stiff.

Do synthetics need to be broken-in? If so, what should I do? Do they get a little more limp over time? Do they get softer? This inquiring mind wants to know.

Thanks,

~Jeff

I've been using the Body Shop's synthetic brush for about 9 months now. I haven't noticed a softening up at all. I havn't had experience with other synthetics, my brush is about the same stiffness it was when I first bought it. There is some adjustments to using a synthetic, but once you get used to them, they are quite enjoyable to use.

I've been using the Body Shop's synthetic brush for about 9 months now. I haven't noticed a softening up at all. I havn't had experience with other synthetics, my brush is about the same stiffness it was when I first bought it. There is some adjustments to using a synthetic, but once you get used to them, they are quite enjoyable to use.

Thanks for sharing your experience. My plan is to use this little brush for at least a week or two. I like some things about it and maybe I'll either figure out how to overcome some of its drawbacks or how to work with them.

Thanks,

~Jeff

I've not noticed any change in the performance of any of my synthetic brushes over time. I think you may see a slight softening of the bristles but nothing substantial. It will always remain springy.