What's new

Brands and where to buy?

Hi Everyone,
I have been reading through a bunch of threads trying to get an idea of where to start with hones. I tried lapping film out and have had some success with it. I would like to move on from the films though to something more durable. My goal is to move on from sharpening and maintaining my own razors, to doing restorations on vintages as a hobby. I am still new to honing and with limited time(I have two very young boys who take up most of my time :biggrin1:), I don't think that learning with a natural would the best idea for me right now. Although I would like to at some point give them a try.

My questions are:

Is one brand better than the others? I have seen a few different brands mentions (Naniwa, Sharpton, etc). Would it be best to buy all the same brand? I saw some posts mention that grits vary from brand to brand. So for the sake of maintaining a proper progression, sticking with one brand might be best?

Where are some good places to consider purchasing from? I know I can get them from amazon, but if I can support members or smaller businesses I would much rather do that. Even if it will cost me a couple extra bucks. I found a set from Straight Razor Design that would be great rather than piecing something together. But I am open to whatever. 10 Stones may be overkill at this point, so if I could come in under that price buying fewer on their own that would be great.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
I would probably like to stick with Synthetic at this point. Just to get used to honing. From what I have been reading, it seems the natural stones take a little more time and acquired skill to use. That Naniwa set is very top of my budget. I would much rather spend less and I was thinking from what I have read I can probably get away with 4 stones rather than 10. My bigger concerns are what brand people like the most and where people recommend buying them from. Thanks for the response!