What's new

Bowl or Face Lather. What Brush Suits? Badger vs Boar

I’m still pretty new to DE shaving, but I have been acquiring various brush types and sizes.
Synthetic-Badger-Boar-Badger/Boar.
Are one of these brush types preferable to the other in performing certain tasks such as face lathering vs bowl lathering?
I know everyone has their own personal peccadilloes regarding what is best for them, but is there some kind of general agreement on this matter?

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
In terms of hair type I do not think any is better for bowl or face lathering, instead each user will have their personal preference. I face lather and prefer a short lofted scrubby two band badger brush with a knot no larger than 25mm. If I had to generalise for badger I would say that the fashion now is for brushes at least 26mm with a lower loft than in recent years as floppy brushes seem to be less in favour these days. I have always thought that a longer handle lends itself to bowl lathering especially if the shape narrows towards the knot so as not to bang the sides of the bowl. I am generalizing and could be wrong.

I use badger, boar and synthetic brushes and I bowl lather exclusively. They all work well for bowl lathering. And I'll bet that they all work well for face lathering as well, although I can't attest to that since I've never face lathered.

Its really all what you like. When I used boars, I use to face lather with them all the time and I could have bowl lathered with them just as easily too if I had wanted.
Really, its all just what you like. Im honestly coming around to the idea that synthetics have made natural hair brushes obsolete. Synthetics are so cheap and are so easy to make a great lather with, I sometimes feel like natural hair brushes just arent neccesary anymore.

Question: "Are one of these brush types preferable to the other in performing certain tasks such as face lathering vs bowl lathering?"