What's new

Bought me a shavette :)

So I'm new to this. I purchased a shavette instead of a straight razor thinking maintaining the blade is going to require tools and a lot of learning for a straight razor. A shavette just seemed like the much more convenient option.

Are there any members here that swear by shavettes? What are your thoughts on my decision of getting a shavette as compared to a straight razor? Are they very difficult to use as compared to straight razors?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Reactions: abj
Shavettes can give a very nice shave for very little money.
I'm surprised more do not use them regularly.
Go slow, take your time and keep the razor close to flat on your face. A sloppy wet lather will help.
Have fun.

Good choice to start with. Blades are always sharp, cheap, light which encourages soft touch/no pressure and of course no maintenance.

Do your prep work right (hydrated beard, wet/slick lather) and you are halfway to a fine shave.

steveclarkus

Goose Poop Connoisseur
So I'm new to this. I purchased a shavette instead of a straight razor thinking maintaining the blade is going to require tools and a lot of learning for a straight razor. A shavette just seemed like the much more convenient option.

Are there any members here that swear by shavettes? What are your thoughts on my decision of getting a shavette as compared to a straight razor? Are they very difficult to use as compared to straight razors?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!