What's new

Boellis Panama 1924 an in depth review & thoughts

Well, I'm going to have to give this stuff another try because it wasn't the greatest for me.
I do have to disclaim that I'm new to soaps with HeV Duc de Santal and L&L Harmony being the only other ones that I've tried so far.
The lather seemed to wear thin and just started to dissipate after adding just a couple of a 'tip-dips' of water during my face lather.
Even after loading more soap the glide didn't seem too slick and so I ended up rinsing off and reaching for my trusty Proraso red; which I keep close at hand during my transition/learning period of soaps.

As mentioned before though, I do only have the HeV and L&L to compare with at the moment.....but these two were both fantastic in all aspects and were easy to hit the sweet spot for a good lather.

I'll have to take a page out of the OP's bok and give it a few more tries before making a final decision.

Luckily, mine is just a sample.
Samples are a bit more finicky to get right quickly especially if a soap is completely new to you. And as I think I mentioned in the review I did find the water range to be fairly wide

Thanks for this great review! I bought the soap and just had to share my first experience with it:) I'm really surprised how good my skin feels after the shave.

I used Floris Elite soap (hard-puck, wooden bowl) before, which is quite expensive. Yesterday I did a 3-pass shave with the Floris soap and my Gillette Flathead with Feather-blade, going against the grain on the last pass, to get my skin used to that for smoother shaves. My skin was again quite irritated though, particularly in the neck. I had Panama soap on my list for quite a while, so I decided to just go and buy it to see if it would make a difference.