What's new

Boar Strop + Noobie Stropper

duke762

Rose to the occasion
Just scored an Illinois #827 used, looks almost new, for cheap. Totally stoked to get my hands on a for real hanging strop!

What if any difference is there in feel or usage between leather and boar. Is boar a suitable material for a first strop? The leather #127 is the one I wanted but this came along at a steal. 24 hours from now it will be in my sweaty, shaky, hands and a new threshold will be crossed. Any tips so I can come out of the corner swinging tomorrow?

I am a beginner to SR shaving. But i have not heard people use boar leather. My suggestion is to use something cheap though as you will probably get a few nicks in it before you get the technique down. Cow leather is cheap and works pretty well and is what i use. I have just got myself a horsehide strop now, but needs breaking in.
But if you decide to use something expensive for a first strop? take it slow, controlled and be careful.

Only pointers i can give is do not use alot of preassure or you will roll the edge. And try to lift the edge of the strop as you are getting to the end of your stroke, if you dont and keep the edge on there to a full stop then you will probably nick it, i know i did. And always roll on the spine

Just scored an Illinois #827 used, looks almost new, for cheap. Totally stoked to get my hands on a for real hanging strop!

What if any difference is there in feel or usage between leather and boar. Is boar a suitable material for a first strop? The leather #127 is the one I wanted but this came along at a steal. 24 hours from now it will be in my sweaty, shaky, hands and a new threshold will be crossed. Any tips so I can come out of the corner swinging tomorrow?
Congratulations and Illinois is a well known and respected brand. Mine is a horse hide and fire host linen version. I'd say if its in decent shape, just use it.

I you think boar hide might work, try it. You might like it and you might not.