What's new

Blood transmitted diseases from razor cut - at the barber's place

Status
Not open for further replies.
I couldnt find a thread to post this question, so i open this thread.

I went to a barber this morning for a shave. During the shave I got a cut. Prior to the shave, I noticed that the barber changed the razor blade in the shavette, that is a good thing. After the cut he used septic stick and paper to stop the bleeding, and later finish the shave.

I feel concerned now. Was googling for some time, and seems that getting HIV is unlikely (it says that it dies on open air). More concern was raised for HPV Hepatitis variants.

Does someone have some experience to share on this matter? I will do the tests obviously, but from what I read, it says that it might take few months to show if certain viruses are in our blood/body.

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
I suspect you mean the barber used a styptic stick. I am no expert here but it is my opinion that you are worrying over nothing especially as the barber had changed the blade. It is my understanding that the reason why barbers in some areas were required to desist from using straight razors and to use shavettes instead is precisely because of concerns such as this. You say that you will 'obviously' do tests, but with respect that is not obvious to me at all and I certainly would not do so. If a cut or nick from a barber necessitated medical testing for HIV/Hepatitis then nobody would visit the barber for a shave and they would not be allowed to offer them. My advice, as someone who is not medically trained, is to forget about it unless it becomes infected and if you cannot then I advise that you not visit a barber for a shave again. You are likely to do more harm to your health by stressing and worrying than from a cut at the barber, and Googling will not help 👍