What's new

Blade Wars: Silver Star vs. Personna Israeli Red

Blade Wars: Silver Star vs. Personna Israeli Red

Egypt vs. Israel. Oh my goodness, what am I getting into here? This is supposed to be a blind test of double-edge razor blades, not an international incident.

Up for the test are Silver Star Stainless Steel blades made by the Egyptian Company, Lord. I’ve never tried them before, but have heard good things about them. My experience with the Lord Company is using the well-made L6 razor, which I consider a great bargain. Red IPs, of course, are made in Israel by Personna. I’ve only used Red IPs a couple of times, and found them to be sharp, long-lasting, and phenomenally smooth.

Big thank you to [MENTION=104562]mr_houston[/MENTION], who sent me the Red IPS and to [MENTION=106012]1Cal[/MENTION] who sent me the Silver Stars all the way from the U.K.

I will use two identical Razorock Protege Razors. The razors, whose heads are clones of the DE89, have stainless steel handles with removable caps. I will color one of caps with a blue Sharpie so I can tell them apart, but will not know which blade is in which razor.

I typically face lather and do two passes, the first with the grain, the second across the grain. When I do a third pass, it is usually against the grain. I’ll try to keep the conditions similar for everything except the blade. I’ll use one razor on each side of my face and switch sides daily. I’ll describe what I see and feel, and invite you to share your thoughts along the way.

So what do you think? Anyone have experience with Silver Star? Who do you think will prevail?

The contenders:
$SILVER-STAR-Y.jpg $PERSONNA-RED-Y.jpg

Good stuff! A Six-Day Blade War for supremacy. There can only be one winner, two blades go in one blade comes out.