What's new

Blade Wars: Astra Superior Platinum vs Trig Silver Edge Stainless Steel

On Christmas in 1914, French, British, and German troops along the Western Front observed an unofficial truce during which they exchanged gifts and conversation.

http://www.history.com/topics/christmas/history-of-christmas/videos/the-christmas-truce

No such sentimentality here on Blade Wars!

Blade Wars: Astra Superior Platinum vs Trig Silver Edge Stainless Steel

This blade war pits together Astra Superior Platinum and Trig Sliver Edge Stainless Steel. Astra Superior Platinums come in a green box and are manufactured by Petersburg Products International in St. Petersburg, Russia. I paid $10, delivered, for 100 Astras on eBay. I received a 10-pack of Trig with a Wet Shave Club shipment. I’ve never used them before. They are manufactured in Pakistan. They are very nicely packaged and sell on eBay for $21 for one hundred.

I will use two identical Razorock Protege Razors. The razors, whose heads are clones of the DE89, have stainless steel handles with removable caps. I will color one of caps with a blue Sharpie so I can tell them apart, but will not know which blade is in which razor.

I typically face lather and do two passes, the first with the grain, the second across the grain. When I do a third pass, it is usually against the grain. I’ll try to keep the conditions similar for everything except the blade. I’ll use one razor on each side of my face and switch sides daily. I’ll describe what I see and feel, and invite you to share your thoughts along the way.

So what do you think? Anyone have experience with Treet? I love my Pakistani-made razors. I wonder how the blade will perform.

PS -

I hope you and your loved ones have a wonderful Christmas and a healthy, peaceful, joyful New Year! (And a lot of good shaves.)

Merry Christmas to you and to all.