What's new

Blade suggestions

I Have been shaving for about 6 months with DE. I have used shark stainless blades most and have experimented with a few others but most of the time has been getting my technique up to scratch before going through x number of blades.

Sharks are decent but I don't really get a close enough shave with less than about 4 passes. I would like less passes for less irritation if possible. I am not chasing bbs but would like to get a regular DFS.

I have tried and dislike derby, indian wilkinson sword and dorco. The dorco 300 gives a good shave but only once. The derby always gives me weepers and I'm not sure why, the wilkinson was just dull.

I have tried Astra (green pack) and can barely tell the difference between them and Shark. I do need to revisit these.

I get good results from a gillette 7 oclock yellow (sharpedge) on the 2nd and 3rd shaves only. The results for the first shave are exceedingly close but with a lot of irritation.

I have 3 blades in my stash to try, rapira platinum lux, voskhod and gillette nacet stainless.

I am using only a british 40's flat bottom tech at the moment. I also have a slim, a plastic handled tech, a rimei and a weishi but I'm trying to get everything right with the tech first. I'm currently using derby soap. I have used arko before and find them virtually identical in use.

I would like suggestions on any other blades that may suit me based on what I have said. I will get a small sampling of 3 or 4 types if the ones I have yet to test don't suit me. I hold high hopes for the Voskhod given how many say it is both very smooth and relatively sharp (but not too sharp).

Give Gillette Platinum Plus a try. You can get them at Walgreen's ($6.99 for nine blades, in 3 packs of 3)

Mikey

Give Gillette Platinum Plus a try. You can get them at Walgreen's ($6.99 for nine blades, in 3 packs of 3)

Mikey