What's new

Blade Recommendations

Hi Everyone,
A few weeks back I received my great grandfather's 1916 Gillette single ring razor from my mom. I have some experience with DE shaving, but have since moved on to straights. I really had no interest in going back to DE until I received this razor. Anyway, all I have left are some Derby blades. While I had good experiences with them, I feel as though this razor deserves something better. I plan to clean it up and polish it in the next week or so. I would only be using it occasionally. I am not worried about blades being too aggressive and I am open to anything. I figured I would ask you gentlemen what suggestions you might have for me to try out. Thanks!

Feather
Gillette 7 O'Clock Yellow
Polsilver Super Iridium
Astra SP

There are plenty of others but these always give me very good results

Yep, there are so many blades out there. I figured I would see what people seem to like the most. I don't plan on buying many, because I will still mostly be using my straights on a day to day basis. I just thought it would be fun to use this razor from time to time.

Hi Everyone,
A few weeks back I received my great grandfather's 1916 Gillette single ring razor from my mom. I have some experience with DE shaving, but have since moved on to straights. I really had no interest in going back to DE until I received this razor. Anyway, all I have left are some Derby blades. While I had good experiences with them, I feel as though this razor deserves something better. I plan to clean it up and polish it in the next week or so. I would only be using it occasionally. I am not worried about blades being too aggressive and I am open to anything. I figured I would ask you gentlemen what suggestions you might have for me to try out. Thanks!
If you've had good experiences with the Derbies in the past, and you still have some, why not stick to them? What would your Great Grandfather have done?