What's new

Blade Life: GEM/Personna, PTFE Coated, SE Razor Blade

What is the normal / expected blade life for the: GEM/Personna, PTFE Coated, SE Razor Blade?

I recently started shaving with SE razors (I have been shaving for over 40 years with DE safety razors), and I am using GEM/Personna, PTFE coated, SE razor blades. I am still using the very first SE blade that I started shaving with in SE razors (I purchased a pack of 100 blades). . . I just had my 21st BBS shave with that blade today (today I shaved with an Ever-Ready, 1924 - "Shovel Head" razor). I have used that same blade shaving with the following razors (with most of the razors, I have shaved multiple times with the same blade in each different razor): 1912 Damaskeen, 1912 Ever-Ready (made in England), 1912 GEM, GEM Feather Weight, GEM Flat Top Heavy - FTH/G-Bar, MMOC, MMCP, MMBT, 1914 Ever-Ready, 1924 Ever-Ready - "Shovel Head."

Today, I enjoyed comfortable (two and a half shaving passes), BBS shave number 22 with the same blade!!! -- Today I used the blade in a 1912 GEM Damaskeene razor.

Shave number 23 today with the blade. . . Great shave with an Ever-Ready 1924 "Shovel Head" razor!!!

Chanced on this thread when looking for something gem blade related. Sad to see no comments and the thread just die. 23 shaves is amazing and wonder how long that blade lasted @SteveF

It would be great for people using Gem blades to post their experience and revive this thread. Apparently Gem PTFE blades last longer than DE for most shavers. Would like to know the maximum shaves people have got and in what hardware.

Sent from my MI MAX using Tapatalk

I don't get it. I really don't. I go past 5 shaves with a GEM PTFE and it will barely cut my whiskers. I wish I could find the secret.

I hope the OP weighs back in too, looks like he was here as recently as a couple months ago.