What's new

blade change with each shave?

Do any of you change your blade after each shave?

With the very low cost of quality DE blades I was wondering if any of you change blades after a shave?

I'm new to this and am shaving my face and head and am thinking of trying this. So far I have used derby, dorco, Wilkinson and Merkur blades. It seems that the blade starts dragging towards the end of my second shave on all of these. Last night I ended up with some razor burn with a Dorco... So I started wondering why push it? Its all about enjoying the shave right? I'll keep trying new blades too, maybe there are some that can last multiple shaves?

What are you guys doing? Look forward to your thoughts...

THANKS!

Tom

3 shaves is generally the average lifespan of a blade. I would try some different blades, as three of the four blades you listed, the exception being the Derby, are regarded as not very good.

My uncle did this for a while. However, he had more than 2,500 blades at the time! (He bought them at a G.O.B. auction). However, most blades last me from 2 to 5 shaves depending on the blade.

It depends entirely on the blade and your face.
The blades you mentioned I can't even get one good shave out of.
Now If you're talking about Feather, Bluebird or Shark blades, I can get a week to two weeks out of them.
It's a good thing blades are cheap.

3-5 shaves for me depending on the blade. I wouldn't change after one shave. In fact, many of us find that the best shave on a blade is on the second day. YMMV.

cheers!

Quite often, I find the first shave with a blade to be the harshest, only to become smoother on subsequent shaves. I've been going 3-7 shaves depending on the blade, but regardless of cost, I want to get as many quality shaves from each blade as I can.

3 shaves is generally the average lifespan of a blade. I would try some different blades, as three of the four blades you listed, the exception being the Derby, are regarded as not very good.