What's new

Blackbird Razor Open Comb

I have both the open comb and closed comb. As near as I can tell, the dimensions are identical; same blade exposure, gap, angle, etc.

So it will come down to personal preference. For me, I prefer the OC; I like the way it looks (really awesome), and I like that it doesn't scrape away all the lather before the blade does the work. Note that latter statement only applies if you rest the OC or SB against your face. This razor, for me, seems to shave best with the guard just a tick above the skin.

Keep in mind, I'm new to this razor in that I have only been shaving with it for about 4 weeks. I'm still dialing in my technique. Those are my impressions so far.

I'm also relatively new to OC razors. This is my second OC razor (First being a Merkur Classic). I've heard that with OC razors in general, the proper technique is to rest the guard against the skin, and tip the razor back until the blade starts cutting. This worked great with the Merkur.

With the Blackbird OC, the combs are "pointed" and feel sharp against the skin, so this technique doesn't work for me. I rest the head against my face and tip the razor forward until the blade starts cutting, just like with a SB razor. Considering both base plates seem to have identical dimensions, this technique makes sense to me. I have noticed that the "sharpness" from the combs is a non-issue when the razor is used at the proper angle, even with the combs touching the skin.

I hope that information makes sense... I have a head cold at the moment, and I could have just typed a racy adult novel instead of a Blackbird OC review. :)

Actually, I think ALL safety razors work better with the guard above the skin, but that's just me. I wouldn't think the Blackbird would be any different.

I have noted that many of the vintage razors I have show plating wear on the cap or doors on TTOs, a hint that they spent quite a bit of time riding on skin.

Peter