What's new

Black Handled Super Speed , are you a fan ?

My daily driver is a 1978 that belonged to my God father. I also have his 1976 as a back up. I also have a few birth year 1968 super speeds as well. I love hese razors. I always get bbs shaves and they feel quite good holding them . Anyone else here particularly enjoy using these ? Post photos if you can.

Attachments

• $20140721_145208.jpg
    $20140721_145208.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 217
It's okay as a beginner razor, but when I became more experienced I found that I did not like the Superspeeds, whichever handle. Unless you consider the Red Tip a Superspeed-this is an amazing razor.

I just cleaned up a 1970 P4. I used it last night, but didn't like it with the Dorco 300 blade. I am a newbie, so I may change my mind as my technique improves. On the other hand, a Dorco 300 worked very well in my el cheapo Chinese DE razor ("as seen on TV").

Here is mine:

I do not have a black handle superspeed, but have a blue tip B1, and a flare tip B3. I have not used the blue tip, but so far I am not in love with the flare tip. The one razor that I do love is a '53 British Aristocrat #66. I also have a German Parat, but it came broken and I have not repaired it yet. YMMV
Aristocrat
$20140528_224816.jpg
Blue tip & Flare tip
$20140530_223503.jpg

Last edited:
This morning i tried my (new to me) M4 Gillette Super Speed and Lord Classic. I see why people like the SS so much, almost DFS with 2 WTG and 1 XTG and virtually no sting from the alum block.

I've had a lot of Super Speeds come and go and currently have cut it down to just three. A '47 un-notched, a '58 TV Special and a '75 Black handle. Although there were a number of variations and changes, I feel that this gives me one from every major era of the Super Speed. All are excellent razors. I think the black handles can get overlooked and are a great razor at a totally reasonable price. Every time I shave with mine I am reminded how good it is.