What's new

Best way to affix blade in three-piece safety razors

I use a butterfly mostly, but I have owned three-piece safety razors (WCS, Jagger, Razorock). Once every six months I slip and slice a finger with a corner of the blade, most notably four days ago.

Two days ago I tried again. I put the cap face down on the bathroom sink counter-top, then laid the blade over the thread then I placed the baseplate on top, and purring two fingers of pressure on the center of said baseplate, screwed the handle in. I suppose this is the way to do it, because I never held the razor aloft as I screwed in the handle.

However, I have fewer than three years' experience with DE shaving. If you have a safer method of affixing the blade, I'd love to know it.

I hold the ends of the cap with a towel and place a fresh blade on the cap followed by the base plate. While still holding the cap-blade-base assembly with the towel by the ends, thread the handle onto the stud. This method so far has not resulted in bloodshed. Unwrapping the blade however...

This is almost exactly the method by which I slip and slice. I haven't cut myself unwrapping the blade though. Just goes to show that everyone has a different experience...

Here is what works for me:
1. Place a hand towel on the bathroom counter.
2. Disassemble the razor.
3. Invert the razor head, then place the top cap on the towel.
4. Insert the blade onto the top cap.
5. Place the razor base onto the top cap.
6. Attach the handle.

Hope this helps!!

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Here is what works for me:
1. Place a hand towel on the bathroom counter.
2. Disassemble the razor.
3. Invert the razor head, then place the top cap on the towel.
4. Insert the blade onto the top cap.
5. Place the razor base onto the top cap.
6. Attach the handle.

Hope this helps!!
This. I could not have said it better myself.

I handle blades by the tab only so if your fingers are away from the cutting edges you won't get cut.