What's new

Best Pen and Notebook Recommendations

Good Evening Everyone!

I am interested in using a small notebook and a pen to start writing down ideas, thoughts etc. I would like something that is refillable (the notebook) and a good writing pen. I am new to all of this. I know that there is moleskin and field notes.

I would also like a nice leather made cover to go along with it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Hello :)

So, one of the first things to ask is if you are looking to go with a fountain pen, or the ballpoint/gel type of pen. That will influence the choice of notebook/paper that you'll use.

Next thing to sort out, what size of notebook? Pocket sized, smaller like an A5, or the longer but skinny kind of setup?

The last question is if you are looking for a nice sort of fancy and finished leather cover, or something just rustic that will take on a lot of personality as you use it and take it the places you go. That will help narrow down the choices, even more so once combined with the size and paper options you'll be looking at based on the pen type.

I know, seems like a lot upfront to think about for just getting a notebook and pen, but it's really about giving suggestions that will fit into what you have in mind more accurately. :)

@Shave_Rat thank you so much for responding to my questions. I will attempt to answer it as best as I can.

As for what type of pen, I usually use a ball point. I do not have any experience with a fountain pen. Are they easier to write with? What penwould you recommend?

I would want a small notebook. Something I can put in my breast pocket amor trouser pocket.

As for a cover, something that will Show age as it is used. Not to expensive and something that I could put my initials in and maybe a masonic emblem.

I'll try to keep my own suggestions to things that I've tried myself, or at least close to them.