What's new

Best DIY lather bowl

Hi shave family, this is my first post here. I am new to the whole shaving culture in so far as soaps and accessories. I know it's only $20-$30 for a decent scuttle or lather bowl, and i see the plastic $12 Timeless blue bowl, or the plastic PAA Travel Scuttle for $19.99, but I feel foolish spending $20-$30 on a glorified bowl. What are some of people's ideas for DIY. I have an idea for something that will work out perfectly that i just ordered but will take a few days. Feel free to post your ideas. Thanks.

I was actually considering using the black coffee filter basket that holds the coffee filter as it sort of looks similar to the FINE ceramic lather bowl/scuttle. It even has the ribs inside which would help with aerating/ fluffing up the lather.

I also found, but didn't order silicone cupcake baking cups. Quite a bit smaller than most bowls/scuttles, but it has a bunch of ridges that would ease in creating lather.

I have used a glass bowl, ceramic bowl, stainless bowl. None were better than the other and all shaving specific ones that weren’t high dollar were way too small. Stole a Walmart salsa bowl from the wife. It is plastic, black, large and has little feet like the ones at a restaurant. Was probably less than a dollar but free in this instance. Large bowl that works great. For my soap container I use an old cream cheese container with lid, berry flavor. I had the proper equipment in my cart online more than once but never pulled the trigger. It’s not the money but the principle. I didn’t need them and I had things that would work. When in doubt, do what grandpa would do, LOL!

Ceramic bowl from Flying Tiger. Cost me 3 euros, the white lines on the inside are actually ribbed for perfect lather creation.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 62
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 57