What's new

Best cheap hone for touch-ups

Basically the title says it all. I'm a student on a budget so I was looking for an "inexpensive" solution. I have been looking at coticules, CNATs and Yellow lakes. I know there are Thuringian, Arkies and many other hones out there, but they seem very expensive. I would like to keep this under 42 USD (350 NOK) if bought from a professional retailer in order to avoid costums duty.
Any suggestions?

Lapping film? Spyderco uf? I have used the Spyderco uf as a finisher and I liked it, although i prefer the Chinese stone. I would suggest the Chinese stone, but you really need a way to lap it even if it is already flat in order for it to perform optimally. I have not tried the lapping film yet, but many members have with great success.

Lapping film? Spyderco uf? I have used the Spyderco uf as a finisher and I liked it, although i prefer the Chinese stone. I would suggest the Chinese stone, but you really need a way to lap it even if it is already flat in order for it to perform optimally. I have not tried the lapping film yet, but many members have with great success.
Spyderco UF is a not go as it's not availible in Norway. But regarding the CNAT, I presume it would be OK to simply out a piece of wet/dry sandpaper on a flat surface and rub the honing side of the stone on that?

Steve56

Ask me about shaving naked!
Film will be your best option at that price point and should do well for you.

You might also want to consider paste on lapped balsa, either after the film to change the feel of the edge, or by itself just as a touchup. There's an entire thread on that here somewhere. CrOx, FeOx, CBN, diamond....

Cheers, Steve

Last edited:
Guys, can I just buy a tile and assume it's flat, or will I need to lap that too? If so, how would I do it?
Really appreciate your help guys.

If you are just taking care of one straight I would think that you could just put sandpaper on a kitchen countertop to lap the 12k hone.