What's new

Beard balms and oils, tell me more.

cleanshaved

I’m stumped
Hello Guys,
I'm new to the world of Beard balms and oils and have a few question for my B&B bearded brothers.

So I don't have a beard yet per se but have stop shaving about a week ago. I picked up some stuff to get going. Proraso wash and balm. There was no real research into these two, other than a itch to try their stuff to stop the itch. :)
Now I'm on the hunt for a more considered purchase.

Do both of these have a shelf life? I don't want to stock up to save on shipping and find the stuff spoils.

How long does it take to use a bottle of oil or can of balm? I know there are a few variables to consider like beard length and how much you are applying each time. Just a ball park figure for a medium sized beard. A few weeks or a Month or two?

There seems to be some wide gap in pricing, with some stuff double or even three times the price of others. Captain Fawcett’s Private Stock Beard Oil being a example of three time the price for one place I was looking at.
Do you get what you pay for or are these thing very similar in performance?

What would be a good oil or balm to try first? So far a couple have peaked my interest.

Lambert’s Luscious, a local for me here in Wellington, NZ. He seems to have a few good reviews and is priced well enough to find out for myself.

Honest Amish. I've seen it pop up a bit and they have a lot of beards to test their product on. :)
Shipping to NZ is not cheap, so would want to stock up to keep the cost down. This is where the use time / shelf life question comes in.

I'm going to buy a beard brush soon and will add one oil or balm to the basket as well.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

cleanshaved

I’m stumped
Beard Oils usually last around 3 months of daily use and have a shelf life of almost 2 years. Depending on ingredients.

The Badass Beard Care Loaded Caddy has everything to get you started. And they make very good oils and balms.