What's new

*Battle Royale* Your Thoughts, My Brush: Edwin Jagger v Omega v Vulfix v Parker

I'm new to wet-shaving also (4 months)... I have one of those Parkers, a Simpson Case1 and your standard cheep Tweezerman.

The Park has a tall loft with a small diameter knot. The long hair with the small diameter knot made for a quick and substantial bloom, but it also made for a thin (as in not dense) brush. When full of lather, it is very very soft to the face, almost to the point of not feeling it at all... It creates a ton of lather, but it doesn't release it to the face unless you do more of a painting motion (which I do not like until my last few strokes with the brush before I apply the razor). On my face, it is just too big... I would say the Park is soft, yet floppy... I would not buy another one.

The Tweezerman is actually a decent starter brush... it can face lather and bowl lather, with soaps and cream, but it is scratchy on my face when applying it in a circular motion. It's not bad, but I wont buy another one.

The Simpson Case1 is in Best badger and has a diameter of 19mm and a loft of 42mm. Most people call this a travel brush, but it has turned into my new everyday brush (mainly because I only have 3 and do not like the first two). I tend to face lather with it, but I also have a small bowl I can bowl lather in; it does a great job with both, but excels in face lathering. I would recommend this brush to anyone! It may not be your everyday brush, but the density, softness, yet firmness (backbone) has made me start looking at other Simpson brushes.

I hope this helps if it is not too late.

Alright guys. I really appreciate all of your responses. I apologize if I'm getting back to you all a little late, but I wanted to give you the scoop on my decision and experiences.