What's new

Battle of the Old Spices

This is about Old Spice, but let's start with a little context.

I recently got interested in alcohol-based after shaves after reading about them on this forum. I had been using Nivea's post shave balm exclusively for over 20 years. So it's been a long time since I used an alcohol-based after shave. I have now tried a bunch of the after shaves:
  • Aqua Velva - Smells like dirty not-quite-sure-what. Must be the menthol. Not my favorite.
  • Pinaud Clubman (the regular one) - Nice. Definitely worth trying, but it failed to bring back memories of the local barbershop.
  • Proraso Green - OK. Not great, not bad. I am kind of indifferent to it.
  • Fine Accoutrements Fresh Vetiver - Love it. If I could pour it all over my body or fill a tub and soak in it, I would be even happier.
  • Fine Accoutrements Italian Citrus - Ditto.
Back to Old Spice. I poured through all of the literature I could find on the Internet and then I 1) bought a bottle of the Proctor & Gamble version at my local grocery store, 2) tried to buy a bottle of Family Dollar Spice to only learn that the product had been discontinued, and 3) bought a bottle of Indian Old Spice made by Rubicon via eBay.

First, Old Spice is awesome! It is refreshing and invigorating, and just smells great! But I have to say that I actually prefer the Proctor & Gamble version over the Indian Rubicon version. The Indian version just does not feel as alive to me and it has a bit of a burn, which I do not care for.

My only negative comment about the Proctor & Gamble version is if I were the CEO of Proctor & Gamble, I would tone down the sweetness of the product just a tad.