What's new

Astra Superior Platinum

Did Astra's blade design change or fake? Old blades on the left, new on the right.No numbers on the right side.

proxy.php

Mine are the same as the ones on the right, got them about a month ago from Amazon UK so I'd imagine they are real. I think it must be a design change I didn't know they ever had a different design though as I'm new to all this. They seem to shave well anyway.

The last couple of Astras I have used hav eww been like those on the right. Weird thing is happened mid tuck.....

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

The newer stock have etched printing as on the right. It will take some time for old stock to diminish depending on how much vendors are holding.
General consensus is the blade seems to be performing the same.

I just requested and obtained a refund (220 baht - $7 USD) before seeing this thread.
I bought the Stainless, but similar issue - print one side and no numbering, but also the 'dispenser' box is so badly moulded there's no hole to get used blades in and no way to get new blades out without removing the end!

I destroyed the packaging to get the blades out...
I remember my grandfather's plastic boxes - push new blade out top, slide old one in the bottom.
IMG_7656 end.JPG IMG_7657 used blades.JPG IMG_7658 new blade slot closed.JPG

I guess from what I've read here maybe I should give them a test... otherwise I'm stuck with Gilette (Thai super thins) for a while longer. Not that they're bad - I'm too new to judge (still waiting for a stick of soap and brush to arrive...) but I have managed with care (using nivea soap/shampoo) to scrape myself pretty clean. First shave kept it BBS for 24 hours, but felt a bit too 'fresh' for a good 6 hours afterwards.

Update: I'm going to give them a rest until my soap comes - using my Alum (not a shaving alum - it's a deodorant) I got quite a lot more sting than with my Ming-Shi and Super Thin shaves.

Attachments

• IMG_7661 blade out.JPG