What's new

Arkansas Finish - Wanting a sharper edge

I'm pretty new to honing and I've taken an interest in bunch of Arkansas stones. I started off with Soft and Hard Arks but quickly realized that they weren't going to be any finishers. So I bought a Translucent and Black Ark from bestsharpeningstones and I'm currently working with them.

I've tried two edges with the Translucent and Black. One going from Shapton 1.5K, Soft/Hard Ark, Shapton 8K, and then Trans. Another the same but add Shapton 12K and the Black.

The one edge after 8K felt like a more comfortable 8K feel but still tuggy. One after the 12K, felt like the 12K edge but more tuggy. I'm still looking for that sharp keen edge that is comfortable on the skin with the Arks.

My honing time with the Arks are around 30min - 1hr. I don't count laps because I heard there's no point doing it with the Arks. Also, I hone with water or water + lather. I thought about oil but didn't want to make the fingers more slippery during honing.

I'd be happy to hear any tips or advices from those getting good keen edges from Arks. Or your experience with these finishing stones.

How have you dressed the surface on your arks? Some guys like them finished with 600 w/d, others 1200 (and everything in between). Some guys hit them with w/d whenever they start to get too burnished from a lot of honing, others like them well burnished.

My preference is finished with around 800 w/d and not letting it get too burnished. My best edges have been with oil, I've used WD40 as well as jojoba oil but usually I grab WD40...mineral oil works too. I've had mostly good results with a smear of Dawn dishsoap and sprayed water, although the honing sensation is kind of unpleasant for the first 50 laps or more. Water only is something I only tried once and won't be doing it again.

You'll get less feedback with oil, but it seems like overall the final result is better so that's what I use most of the time.