What's new

Are we interested in creams or soaps: Some data from the forum

When I returned to wet shaving last December after maybe 40 years away, I thought I would be using shaving cream. After all, what else is there? Well, nearly a year later, I have about 20 soaps and only 3 creams (different tubes of TOBS I got cheap and use when traveling). As I'd click on B&B, I always was a bit surprised that the number of viewers of the soap sub-forum seemed almost always higher than the number of cream viewers. As a retired behavioral scientist, I thought it would be easy to quantify this and see if its true. So, here goes.
Method: Data were collected over 14 consecutive days, 1 to 3 times per day (mean= 2.7 times/day). When I checked B&B, I noted the number of viewers listed for the cream and soap sub-forums and entered these numbers into an Excel spreadsheet along with the date & time of observations. I tried to spread out the observations across morning, afternoon, and evening (PDT).

And the results: There is a consistent bias toward viewing the soap threads. In the 38 observations, there were 2068 soap thread views and 750 cream views. The average numbers viewing were 54.4 and 19.7 at each observation for a 2.7:1 bias for soaps. The preference was very consistent, too, with there always being more people viewing soaps than creams.

So, why? I'm sure there are a lot more soaps to choose from than creams (and we generally include croaps in with creams). But, I have a real preference for soaps and it's hard to say why. Performance? Physical characteristics (scent, appearance, lathering)? Jars vs tubes?