What's new

Are Wahl DE safety razors descent quality?

Okay. I'm new to the whole safety razor/wet shaving game. Just trying to decide on a first safety razor. I'd like to get something decent. Any suggestions? Would a Wahl be a good or a bad idea? Thanks

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Cool, a cheap way to start off could be the Jack the Barber range at your local Woolworths. I think they are on special this week. The range consists of a DE Razor, Synthetic brush, DE blades and a Tub of Sandalwood Shaving Cream. Google it if you have a chance. I have used all the products and they work well considering they are made in China. I did a review in The Great Southern Land Forum a few years ago.

Thank you. I'm in Melbourne, Australia
Not affiliated but these guys have a wide selection of brushes and razors.

24mm Synth Brush and the entry level DE for 19.95 should get you going.

Not affiliated but these guys have a wide selection of brushes and razors.

24mm Synth Brush and the entry level DE for 19.95 should get you going.
Thanks so much. I really appreciate it. I'll check it out.

Welcome to the forum.
If I'm not mistaken, the Wahl razor, is the adjustable one that can be bought at the shavershop? It looks OK, but to my eyes it looks similar to the futur clones (ming shi, Q shave etc) made in china. So if you like the look of the Wahl, there's those alternatives I mentioned, that can be had significantly cheaper.

Thanks. I appreciate the feedback. They sell a few different Wahls at the Shavorshop, one of which is the adjustable. I'm thinking of maybe their $35 one as a first try. But, I might bust out a bit more money for a better razor. From what I've read the Merkur or Muhle might be better quality?