What's new

Are there any resources for estate pipe pricing?

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
I know that in firearms there are various source, like the Blue Book of Gun Values, for example.

I'm not experienced enough to figure out what a good deal is on eBay. There is a nice looking Butz-Choquin I'm eyeing on eBay, but it's been there quite a while at his $60 selling price with no takers. I put it on my watchlist and he offered $54. I'm just wondering how to evaluate that, or how to make a counter offer that is not insulting. I like it enough for maybe $45.

I'm just wondering if anyone has found a ready-reference to look up when perusing the 'bay. I would guess that new this would maybe be an $80-ish pipe, and it is in fairly good shape, but needs the oxidized stem cleaned the bowl sanded a bit. Would you pay half that, or $40? Less, more? I'm finding myself like a deer in the headlights on eBay. Any advice?

ylekot

On the lookout for a purse
I think I'm watching the same pipe!🤣 I'm not currently a buyer just a window shopper so no bidding war with me.

An excellent question by the way:pipe:

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Yeah, it's tough! I want a pipe that I will enjoy having when I'm done cleaning it up, and I enjoy the process, but I'm thinking a pipe needing cleaning should go for quite a bit less than new, right? OTOH, it looks like one I'd like to have and I don't have to run around to a bunch of flea markets looking for them, which is something I don't enjoy.

Maybe I should just look at it like Amazon, it's easier than finding it on my own and just tell him what it's worth to me. Who cares he's offended. At least the Blue Book gives firearms guys an indication of what's crazy and what's sane for pricing.

ylekot

On Ebay, or any other shopping site for that matter, if they have a "make an offer" option I will offer what I think it's worth. They accept or decline, never had anyone get offended (that I'm aware of) and I have gotten some decent deals that way.