What's new

AR-15 Pistol Build...Maybe.

I'm fairly seriously considering building an AR pistol in either 556 or, maybe, 300BO.

Have any of you done this? Would like to hear your impressions re barrel length vs accuracy, and at what distance, sights, braces, gas vs. piston, etc.

Haven't built and AR in about 15 years, so this will be a re-learning experience.

Any and all advice appreciated.

Wish I could help, but I have no experience with this topic. I'm interested in learning though.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

It's been six or seven years since I built any, and all I can think of is to make sure you have the correct tools and an upper action block to clamp the upper receiver in when torqueing the barrel nut. Whatever caliber you choose, use a good barrel, and trigger, every thing else is kind of redundant. All I built was a 5.56 and a few in 6.5 Grendel. Good luck!

Ad Astra

The Instigator
Go with the Blackout! It's a happening cartridge ... anything from a 200+ gr. thumper to a zipper. And ammo's cheap online.

Get a threaded barrel in case that hearing protection act passes. :2guns: Hearing's important. :a2:

AA

I've never built an AR pistol, so I'm no expert, but I've heard that if you ever want to run a suppressor, you want a minimum 10" barrel length. I've also never seen a piston AR pistol. They might exist, but I've only ever seen direct gas impingement guns with a pistol length gas tube.

I have built one. This is an 1 in 7 twist upper in 5.56 from Palmetto State Armory with a 10.5 " barrel, and KAK pistol brace and buffer tube, a Magpul grip, a Vortex SPARC AR red dot, a Magpul angled fore grip (can't use a horizontal grip), and an ALG ACT trigger. The backup iron sights are from Palmetto State Armory as is the lower parts kit. It uses a standard weight buffer and functions perfectly.

20170709_143724.jpg