What's new

Anyone know Dorco history?

I just purchased an old new stock unused Dorco #42 straight razor for $125. It's I'm the mail to me from Ebay. I'm pretty new at this game but I had come across some good reviews for it and it seemed a good price when I compared other Word I models for sale so I pulled the trigger.
My questions to the wise ones on top of the shave cream mountain are do you think I got a good deal ....give it to me straight I can (cant) take it. I know it's a little late in the game to ask that but I just have to know good or bad. Also, does anyone know of the approximate age of this model razor? Any help would be greatly appreciated.Here is a link to the razor.

Dorko is a great razor , as far as pricing it seems pretty fair for a new unused dorko IMO, as long as you get a proper hone on that blade it will give you amazing shaves. That’s the most important part is getting it to a good and reputable honing service for maximum sharpness . It will most likely not be anywhere near shave ready unless stated by the seller. Out of the box isn’t good enough in my honest opinion.

Psusocr, thanks much for the info I thought it was a decent deal but wasn't sure. Yeah Ive owned a couple of new razors but haven't seen a new blade ever come out shave ready. I do ok honing one though I don't have much experience setting a beve! since luckily I haven't had that problem yet. I've always been hesitant about sending one of my babies off in the mail. Can you recommend any razor honers you be done business with that have a decent price. That's why I've just played with straights off and on is because I can't say I've ever had an actual comfortable shave but that's most likely due to my lack of skill at honing. I think it would be worth a shot sending this one off thanks again for the tips.
Carl

I would recommend doc 226 .He is a true artist when it comes to honing .He is on this site .Just send him a PM,
Dorko's have great steel and workmanship.