What's new

Anyone know anything about this old pen...?

I was looking in some drawers for a paperclip just now (successfully you'll be pleased to hear) and also found this Parker which would've belonged to my grandfather, cos they're his initials.

Anyone know anything about what model it is, or any other info? Why is the nib kinda recessed like that? Was that a common thing that I've just not seen before because I know sod all about pens?

Worth me trying to get back into working order? It seems in reasonably good shape already, but maybe I'll need to do something to touch up / grind the nib? Or is that not advisable given I've never done it before, and don't particularly want to balls it up...?

TY in advance for any thoughts!

IMG-7769.jpg

IMG-7766.jpg

IMG-7767.jpg

Parker 51. Looks to be in good shape. In addition to being great pens, they are incredibly resilient. You'll almost certainly be able to get it writing beautifully.

Give it a couple of flushes with warm water and see if you can get it running mostly clear.

Don't mess with the nib; it is unlikely to be required or advisable.

Parker 51. Looks to be in good shape. In addition to being great pens, they are incredibly resilient. You'll almost certainly be able to get it writing beautifully.

Give it a couple of flushes with warm water and see if you can get it running mostly clear.

Don't mess with the nib; it is unlikely to be required or advisable.

Thanks for the info J! I gave it a flush with water, and then managed to find some ink at the back of the drawer too. And you were indeed correct - it writes beautifully! :)

36C23D10-983D-45AD-BE12-77D22716C5EB.jpeg

Even better - while finding the ink I also stumbled across this rather fancy looking Waterman.

AEA10FC7-08F9-45A5-8272-6257D771BE2C.jpeg

64BD9CAA-D3BD-4534-B530-FD01D6C370E3.jpeg

B93EC65C-785E-4E99-9B11-9CD497903787.jpeg

Oh dear, I can feel another rabbit hole coming on... 😬😬😬