What's new

Any historical reenactors?

I'm curious to see if there are any fellow reenactors on here. I reenact American Civil War, and the period of 1865-1880 as a civilian.

I don't do it, but I think it's super cool. One of my favorite memories from when I was younger is going to the rendezvous at Fort de Chartres near my house and watching all of the reenactment activities. The smell of campfires and gunpowder, the sound of cannons and rifles, and the people walking around in period dress. I'm an absolute dork for it.

I don't do it, but I think it's super cool. One of my favorite memories from when I was younger is going to the rendezvous at Fort de Chartres near my house and watching all of the reenactment activities. The smell of campfires and gunpowder, the sound of cannons and rifles, and the people walking around in period dress. I'm an absolute dork for it.
I absolutely love doing it, I've been doing them for about 5 years.
100_7386b.jpeg

Owen Bawn

Garden party cupcake scented
Several friends have worked as characters at Plimoth Plantation, the 1627 Pilgrim living history museum in Plymouth MA. They've been trained in C17 accents, they're all well read in Puritan and Separatist history and theology, and social customs. Fascinating jobs.

Ad Astra

The Instigator
We have a few groups here, seen at the civil war forts. Enjoy seeing them. One must keep history alive, especially these days. Try tearing down a reenactor with a bayonet! :lol:

As a gun guy, I cringed when the one kept putting the steel buttplate of his $800 Enfield on concrete ... Nice scratches. (Rest it on the top of your boot.)

Then, misfires with the volley of blanks. My flintlocks don't even misfire.

But wearing that wool in the summer heat: you got me there.

AA

We have a few groups here, seen at the civil war forts. Enjoy seeing them. One must keep history alive, especially these days. Try tearing down a reenactor with a bayonet! :lol: