What's new

Antique store find

I've been trolling garage/estate sales, flea markets and antique stores, looking for a vintage Gillette as my first safety razor. I didn't want to spend too much at first. Or, so I thought.

I walked into this antique store and asked if they had any old-fashioned men's shaving gear. She laughed, and said that 3 boxes had just come in; nothing was cleaned, sorted or tagged. Methinks I hit the mother lode (for a newbie, at least). I convinced them that that they could save themselves a lot of work by simply selling all their stuff to me as is - and they did.

Now, I'm very new to this stuff and could use help in establishing the identity and value of these pieces, as well as tips on cleaning them up. (I have read the cleaning/restoration wiki.) Thanks to you folks I do know some things, but my knowledge is definitely lacking.

Enough of this ... on to some pics of what I got away with:

full

full

full

full

Too much to list everything. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves. But, I will list a few things, starting with the blades. I have:

3 wrapped and 2 unwrapped Gillette Thin blades
1 unwrapped Gem Blue Star SE blade
1 unwrapped Wilkinson Sword
6 wrapped blades - Super Hetian Blades? - anyone heard of these?
Many unwrapped Gillette Blue blades
1 wrapped Gillette Blue blade
1 unwrapped Blade Man blade (never heard of them)
2 unwrapped Howard blades (never heard of these either)
2 Gillette blades that appear to be steel, 3 holed; one in plain paper, one with a pic of King Gillette. The one in the pic wrap is very rusty.
Unknown quantity of Gillette Blue blades in a dispenser (came w/Executive)
1 Gillette Blue blade in a pic wrap (came w/Tech)
4 Wrapped Gem Micromatic blades (came w/Junior)

full

full

full

Are any of these blades safe for me to use?

Now, a quick list of razors, with as much as I can identify.

Ever-Ready SE
Gem 1912 SE
Gem Micromatic SE TTO w/case