What's new

antica barbieria colla (ABC) first time use comments

I have been using MdC for the last 2 years and have been quite happy with it. But seeing all the rave reviews of ABC, I decided to buy one and give it a try. I ordered directly with the ABC store along with their almond shampoo.
Ordered June 20.
Shipped June 23.
Arrived July 1.

I shaved with a l'occitane plisson synthetic brush, an AS-D2 razor with gillette platinum plus blades.

Here are my thoughts after the first use:
- The packaging isn't as attractive as MdC.
- As expected, while it looks like a cream, it's really more like a soap. (I just loaded with my brush from the tub.)
- It lathers well.
- The scent is a very mild almondy one.
- I didn't find it to be as slick as MdC. The razor glide wasn't as smooth on some areas like the neck.
- But it also didn't irritate my skin like MdC. (I have very sensitive skin.)
- Some folks have mentioned that it isn't as drying as MdC in the post-shave feel. If found the opposite!

I must say, I am a tad disappointed after all the rave reviews, but maybe I'll try using more product on my next shave and see if that helps. If something changes in subsequent uses, I will update this thread.

Attachments

• IMG_0355.JPG
    IMG_0355.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 53
  • IMG_0356.JPG
    IMG_0356.JPG
    1 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_0357.JPG
    IMG_0357.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 49
  • IMG_0358.JPG
    IMG_0358.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 47
  • IMG_0359.JPG
    IMG_0359.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 52
  • IMG_0360.JPG
    IMG_0360.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 54

Owen Bawn

Garden party cupcake scented