What's new

Another Dog or Not?

The wife and I were talking about dogs with another couple. We are dog people. Our dog is 10 years old and we are considering getting him a companion dog since we both work during the day and he is home alone all day. He doesn't cause trouble (or at least not very often).

What we are wondering is, is he too old to get along with another dog at his age? He has had limited exposure to other dogs. He has been neutered. He is a male dachshund.

Besides a companion for him, this other couple I mentioned earlier stated, when the old dog finally goes to dog heaven, you will already have another dog. They suggested a female because a male may complete territory wise.

I love my dog but I am no expert. Does this make sense? I would love to hear from the canine experts in the house.

Thank you.

I have a friend who owns Duck Tollers. He ALWAYS has two dogs, except for when one passes. After that event, he waits a few years before adding another Duck Toller. But always a senior and a junior partnership.

My clients have told me many times that the new ones keep the older ones young. You could always get another weiner. You already know the ins and outs of their care. And getting your boy a female puppy would probably be your best bet. Good luck!