What's new

Animal Hair Brushes?

good morning B&B community..

One aspect in DE shaving I have limited experience in, is brushes. Have never used anything but a synthetic brush. My experiences with the synths, especially the Yaqi Mysterious Space, has been nothing but positive. I love using this brush, but without any experience with animal hair brushes, i am in no position to judge and cannot help but feel that I may be missing out on something. Does it produce a better lather? Does if feel different on the face while lathering? Does it give a better overall experience? or is it just hype?

The only thing i really understand about animal hair brushes is that they take time to break in, need to be prepped before use and they take longer to dry. There are so many choices to make!!! Badger, Boar or Horse? and within these main groupings there are so many more options.

I like to face lather and am considering a boar brush, mainly because I can get a good one for a decent price and they have more backbone, but i am open to all suggestions. If i do go for a boar i would prefer to keep the hairs to remain natural but no deal breaker i.e. not painted to look like a badger.

• How do they differ from synthetics?
  • Which animal should i go for?
  • Does an animal brush provide better lather? better face feel? better overall experience?
  • How long do these take to break in, and once broken in how much does their characteristics change? ie do they get floppier/softer
  • Which boar brush? Omega or Semogue?
  • Regarding Semogue, which model should i go for? heard good things about the 610/810 and the 2000?
  • The SOC seems to be the 'deluxe' of the Semogue range with a longer break in period.. is it too big for face lathering? lather hog extraordinaire?
  • If Omega, what models?

I was hoping you guys with experience with these brushes chime in and help me chose my first animal brush. Cheers