What's new

An introduction by a newbie, and some advice sought

Hello fellow shavers,
My name is Rohan, and I live in Melbourne Australia, I've just been reading your board for the last few hours and it looks like a great place to share shaving tips and advice openly so I guess I'm saying I'd like to become part of it.

I've been shaving for the last 15 years or so and I have yet to find a solution that suits me. Up till two years ago, I was using a number of different gillette blades, the best and most well known of these is the Mach 3, but I found that I often needed to shave every day to get a good shave, and ended up with pretty severe barber's rash if I did. It was that point when I started doing some research into how to get the best shave possible.

First I tried shave oils, then I tried changing my technique. The oil helped, the technique helped more (dare I say no one ever told me you shouldn't use pressure?!) and finally after problem after problem I settled on using an electric (braun 360 activator) which provides with an "ok" shave considering I use it daily but doesn't last the full day, isn't really all that close and often needs a good touch up with another electric later in the day if I am to be presentable for the entire day.

When ordinary methods fail to produce results, one should turn to the extraordinary

I'm Caucasian, and part Mediterranean so my beard grows relatively quickly but isn't overly thick or curly.

Here comes the dilemma, I would love to have a really nice smooth face, day in day out.