What's new

Am I honing a frown into this edge?

Today I noticed that the bevel is a lot wider in the middle than at the heel and toe. Is this the early stage of a frowning blade?

I’m fairly new at honing (a couple months experience) with a lapping film and balsa setup.

FWIW this is my best edge so far. I spent a lot of time making sure the bevel was set along the whole length before moving on.

DBA2775C-4667-44B0-9324-51D416451ABA.jpeg

804F393C-F2E8-4168-8B7E-C2253236B18C.jpeg

The other side has a thin bevel where the show side is fat, and fat where the show side is thin. The width variation on this side is a little less pronounced.

Looks ok to me. It’s pretty common for the bevels to be uneven. This can be caused by slight imperfections in the grind or a warp in the blade. In the latter case you will typically see the opposite bevel pattern on the reserve side of the razor. As long as there is some sort of bevel, you will have an edge and it doesn’t matter. It’s just cosmetic and doesn’t effect the straightness of the edge.

It would be pretty difficult to hone a frown into a razor using film and balsa. The wide honing surface stops that from happening. You might get a tapper from uneven pressure or overzealous x-strokes but a frown would be tough to do. It is more of a risk with thinner hones but it can easily be avoided with good technique.

At any rate, a thickening in the bevel is not a tell for a developing frown. A thickening in the hone wear patch on the spine can be but not always. Visual inspection, wide hones and actively promoting a smile are the best bet for prevention.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
@Tomo has it tight. If honing in-hand, as you should be with lapping films and pasted balsa strops, it is almost impossible to hone a frown into an edge. Exactly the opposite will often occur where you will and up putting a slight smile on the edge.

I often start with a straight edge and end up with a slight smile due to my honing technique.