What's new

Alum block

I'm fairly new to wet shaving and I have to admit that I'm really loving it. One of the best training tools that I have is my alum block. I find that when I use it, i get instant feedback on where I need to concentrate more on technique. It has really helped in my biggest problem area (under the chin) where it seems I have to really concentrate on how I attack the area. Anyone else use the block for a training/feedback tool?

I'm fairly new to wet shaving and I have to admit that I'm really loving it. One of the best training tools that I have is my alum block. I find that when I use it, i get instant feedback on where I need to concentrate more on technique. It has really helped in my biggest problem area (under the chin) where it seems I have to really concentrate on how I attack the area. Anyone else use the block for a training/feedback tool?
I only use it if I had a particularly rough shave. I mostly use it for deodorant now.

Sent from my Nokia 7.1 using Tapatalk

garyg

B&B membership has its percs
I have one out & use it thrice every shave - first on the fingertips for grip, second post shave on the beard as Steve reports, third (post shower) as an underarm deodorant. Triple threat, just wish I could once not drop one before it was used up ..

I used to use my alum block after every shave. Now I only use it when I've had a rough shave, but I still like it. I've only ever owned two--they last forever as long as you don't drop them.

76702C70-2D81-478D-801E-D03F246A7B5A.jpeg
When I first started I used it a couple times and found that it hurt so bad I had to grab the door jamb to keep from passing out. Also got a ton of redness as a result and assumed I had an allergy..... nope, just ****-poor technique.

Fast forward a couple years and I use it with every shave as I like the feedback and the conditioning elements. My face doesn't feel quite as good afterward without it.