What's new

Alum Block - Anyone else have this happen?

I recently purchased an Alum Block on eBay and upon getting it in yesterday something concerned me about it. One of the ends was already dusty and crumbling to the touch out of the package and before I used it. I don't want to mention a seller name but did try contact them roughly 24 hours ago and still no response yet. Just wondering if this has happened to anyone else, is this normal and since I am fairly new to DE shaving will this effect the life of the alum block?

Here are a few pics:

$20161202_141642.jpg$20161202_141659.jpg$20161202_141816.jpg

It is hard to see but there is literally an air pocket in the first picture. The second picture you can see what I would consider a week spot going through the block and you might be able to see it clearly in the last picture. Based on your advice should I just buy another and if so who sells the best?

Thanks for your help

I always get air pockets in the cheaper alum blocks they are still good to use. I just bought 2 osma blocks and they look to be very good quality.

The seller of your alum block will make good on it. Since you notified them of the issue within three days you should be OK.

As for brands of alum blocks, I have had good luck with

proxy.php

and

proxy.php

Gotcha man, just wanted to make sure this was normal. I had seen a few post where it looked as those the block literally disintegrated on people (almost looking like an ice sickle that was melting) and was worried this would end up being on of those bars. Thanks for the feedback bro.