What's new

Aftershave vs cologne?

Good evening all.

Even though I have fully mastered how to use a safety razor like my 39c Sledgehammer and my Schick Stick Shift injector razor I am still a bit of a newbie when it comes to selecting an aftershave or cologne. My wife got me a bottle of Hugo Boss aftershave which smells great but I have heard that the scents from colognes last longer.

I understand they may be a lot of subjective replies to this thread, but as always any help received will always be most grateful. Is there an advantage of cologne over aftershave or vice versa?

Jason.

Thanks for both of your replies. So what is the fundamental difference between aftershave and cologne then?

Jason.

There is a really nice chart, let me check IFRA. It has to do with the percent of fragrance that is safe to be in contact with shaven skin. That's why aftershaves aren't as strong, you would get frag burn. This is a problem in the US with the aftershaves because there is no regulation.

Thanks for both of your replies. So what is the fundamental difference between aftershave and cologne then?

Jason.

Aftershaves have a lower concentration of fragrance oils. You can use more of it without the scent overwhelming everybody around you.

The fragrance from aftershaves does not last as long as eau de colognes or eau de perfums, generally. This is a good thing. An aftershave scent is not supposed to last for hours and hours. They usually last a few minutes to a couple of hours.

Aftershaves may contain some skin conditioning ingredients to soothe the skin after a shave. EdCs and EdPs generally consist only of alcohol, water and fragrance oils.